What Makes Milo Dagupan a Prestige Race

Finally, I was joining a half marathon after four long months! I have often raced in half marathons before and it still gives me butterflies when it’s a Milo Marathon leg.

Me and Abby recently joined the first of the 39th Milo Marathon qualifying leg in Dagupan City. “Qualifying” is such overwhelming. We actually came here to simply chill for a weekend travel and run. Our goal was to get the prestigious 21km finisher’s medal and the Milo loot bag.

“Just that? What’s in it for you?”, you may be asking me now. To get that “Medal of Honor” means that I have to at least maintain a running pace of 7 minutes and 8 seconds per kilometer or to finish running 21km within the cut-off time of 2 hours and 30 minutes. That is hell fast for me and my short legs!

Cut-off time is one thing about the Milo Marathon races that makes it reputable, and they are very strict with that. After several attempts, I finally got my first 21km medal during the Lipa leg last 2014, just in time when the finish line lane for this distance category was literally closing. Sir Andrew Neri of Nestle just happened to allow me to pass, because I showed up close to the finish line a few seconds after the cut-off time. This became my most memorable 21km Milo race.

Aside from the time restrictions, Milo event organizers are strictly implementing the no bib, no race and not fit-to-run, no race ruling. In Dagupan leg, somebody from their team was inspecting runners in the 21km category. Participants must ensure to submit these requirements or you can be easily pulled out of the race as there were only few participants here comparing to Manila leg. Bandits (a person that runs the race course but has not paid the registration fee) are definitely not allowed and can be easily spotted.

Provincial legs, such as in Dagupan, are eyed by elite runners as their chance to qualify in the full marathon finals in December. For us, joining this event also means that we are privileged to run with the best of the best runners in the country. It’s giving me more chills!

I believe the route here in Dagupan is easy for those qualifying runners, while for me, it’s still challenging. The race started at the back of CSI Stadia mall. The first 3kms of the race route is a flat road. This is followed by a series of more than 2kms of up-hills and down-hills, starting at Jose De Venecia Bridge. After this challenge, the race continues to San Fabian – Bonuan Road, a flatter road with more trees on the side that gives a pleasant scenery, which relaxes the runners. The halfway mark is a U-turn near Dagupan Golf and Beach Club.

Milo Dagupan Race Route [photo by Milo]

Milo Dagupan Race Route [photo by Milo]

It really pays to train before joining this race. Though I felt that I am undertrained for this, I managed to finish within cut-off time. I honestly didn’t know how it happened. I just aimed to do 3kms within each 20 minutes of time and to reach 18km within 2 hours to nail it within the cut-off time. I hit those targets until 12kms and then I slowly drifted away from my target pace. I had this alternating win and lose moments in my mind.

The 18km mark finally showed up at around 2:02:++ of my time and I was reminded to go faster (as it is not yet safe to chill out) until in the 19th km where I had 22 more minutes to finish the race. That was the time when 21km runners reunite with 5km runners after the JDV Bridge, and then the road became crowded. Runners who are aiming to cross the finish line within the cut-off time had a difficult time to pass. As for me, I jogged slowly. I could even walk because I was confident that I will finish on time. I could already celebrate from here!

Another 21km medal, yey! ^_^

Another 21km medal, yey! ^_^

When it’s a Milo race, one should definitely come prepared. Training is a must. Requirements and rules should be followed. One may dodge these standards. But in the end, honesty and respecting the race distance distinguishes the quality of race you are giving yourself. It feels more fulfilling when you do it right.

About Polen

Polen currently works as a professional accountant for a top wellness company in the country. She is known by many to be a quiet girl. Only a few understands what's going through her frame of mind. She chooses to express herself through running, traveling, and writing.

Leave a comment