The Bull Runner Dream Marathon: A Marathoner was Born

I had a dream 3 years ago – a dream to run 42 freaking kilometers and be called a “marathoner.”

Since I was getting addicted with running at that time, I was always checking Takbo.Ph and Pinoyfitness for running events – then I came across an event called The Bull Runner Dream Marathon (TBRDM). This is the first and only marathon in the world that caters to first- or second-time marathoners. TBRDM was founded by Jaymie Pizarro (The Bull Runner) and Coach Jim Lafferty. The vision for the Dream Marathon is “to create a venue for first-time marathoners to train for their first marathon and run it in the most idyllic, positive, and supportive environment.  The event is essentially a 22-week journey beginning on the first day of registration until the runner crosses the finish line on race day.”

Wow, that sounds awesome and perfect for me! So in September 2012, I signed up for the February 2013 race (4th batch). The registration wasn’t easy and the slots were filled-up in an instant.

Looking back, joining TBRDM was one of the best crazy decisions I’ve ever made. It was life-changing; no exaggerations. On the day I received the confirmation that I got in, I became more disciplined in the things that I do and in the foods that I eat. My routine had changed and my daily activities revolved around my training schedule. I became more efficient at work because I need to finish all my tasks at 5 pm so I can go to the gym or the track. I don’t go out on Saturday nights anymore because on Sunday mornings, my fellow dreamers and I are going to have our long slow distance run, the cornerstone of any long distance runner’s training program. I’ve became friends with my training buddies along the way. It was also during training for TBRDM that I met one of my favorite friends, travel buddy, future business partner, and fellow author of this blog. I have proven that runners are a great group of people – they are admirable, passionate, determined, and disciplined.

TBR dreamers

With fellow TBRDM dreamers

running jumpshot

The coaches told us to “Just enjoy the run,” so we did.

February 24, 2013, race day, I stood at the starting line anxious and excited. All I wanted was to cross the finish line within cut-off time. I heard the gun start, and my journey began. My training buddies and I were running all together and doing jump shots in the early part of the course, until one by one, we got tired. Others ran ahead while a few were left behind.

I can vividly remember, at 35 km, I experienced a severe knee pain. I couldn’t bend my right knee, so I had to walk more frequently. I was alone in the road. It was during those times that I began to question my motivation for finishing the race. “Why the heck am I here? For whom? What will I get out of this?” Whatever. While others were sound asleep in the comforts of their bed, there I was voluntarily subjecting myself to exhaustion. I wanted to cry, but I didn’t. Quitting was never an option for me. I can walk all the way if needed, but I mustn’t stop.

For 7 more kilometers, I pushed through the pain. I used all possible motivation I can think of. I had to gather all strength I have left to make another step. When I reached the 38-km mark, the pain got worse! What kept me going were the cheers and high fives from my fellow dreamers and my personal goal of becoming a marathoner.

When I saw the finish line, I was overwhelmed – more like in shock. I thought I was going to burst into tears, but I didn’t. I was smiling when I crossed the line. I wasn’t thinking anymore. I shifted to autopilot. I even forgot to get my medal! I couldn’t recognize a single face in the crowd for about a minute. I felt a kind of “high” I’ve never experienced before. The voice in my head just kept repeating, “You did it. You did it.” Finally, I can stop. It’s over. I just can’t believe that I finished 42 km in 5 hours and 46 minutes. I am officially a marathoner.

Finally, the finish line!

Finally, the finish line!

We are marathoners

We are marathoners

They say the moment you decide to run a marathon, your life will change. True. But it’s also true that the finish line is an end and a beginning in itself. My life did turn into another direction after the marathon. I became more confident in facing challenges and in my ability to endure pain. I transformed into the best version of myself. This experience is a simple proof that YOU can change. Just believe that YOU can make things happen. If you want to finish a marathon, imagine yourself crossing the finish line every single day. That’s what I did. But you can’t just wish and wait for things to happen; you have to work hard for it, too.

Get dressed. Tie your shoe laces. Show up. You don’t have to run fast and you don’t need to run a full marathon now.

You just have to get out, dear! ^_^

*If you have a dream to become a marathoner or would want to read more about The Bull Runner Dream Marathon, visit their site at http://tbrdream.com/.

About Abby

Marathoner. Mountaineer. Wanderlust. Pharmacist. Writer. Volunteer. Coffee addict. Optimist. Nonconformist. She enjoys trying out new things and challenging herself, both in her career and hobbies. Her ultimate goal is to live a passionate life and be an inspiration to others.

2 thoughts on “The Bull Runner Dream Marathon: A Marathoner was Born

  1. Hi Abbybee I can definitely identify with you. I was at about 36km and wondering if I could make it when a gentleman in his 70s ran by. He encouraged me to keep going and i’m glad I did. I did have tears of joy crossing the finish line. Congratulations on your achievement it is a great feeling isn’t it!

    Like

    • Congratulations too, Sue! It really is a life-changing experience! And I love the camaraderie among marathons, just like what the gentleman in his 70s did to you!

      Like

Leave a comment